31st Week: Not by Bread Alone

“Man does not live by bread alone…”

Finished reading the Old Testament and I’m at the first part of the Book of Matthew now.  Jesus’ reply on Satan’s temptation for Him to turn stones into bread somehow stuck on me as I read it. It doesn’t seem major –  I’ve been struggling with my seemingly insatiable appetite for food, and struggling with eating sweets and chips that I know are not good for me and River. I think this verse is a good reminder for me.

I should not live by cakes, chips, chocolates, or any food alone….

“… but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.”

I’ll keep that in mind when I’m tempted to eat food that I’m not supposed to eat. Or overeat anything.

πŸ™‚

At my favorite Starbucks branch without my favorite drink because of sugar concerns. His: Iced cold coffee; hers: coconut water (at Starbucks?!)  πŸ˜€ just had a bit of the lasagna. And that’s the book I’m reading lately – more than halfway through it!
——

Saw 3 of my doctors in less than a week’s time.  3 out of 4 because it turns out I need one more doctor…

My immunologist – Her fellow said I can now lower my Innohep dosage from .8ml to .6ml starting my 30th week, if everything’s ok.  Everything meaning the baby’s growth and blood flow to the baby, and my DVT. I should continue with my injections until 24 hours before delivery, and continue with aspirin also until my 36th week.

My OB – Baby size is just a little bit over than normal, and I should aim not to make the baby too big by eating too much. Blood flow to the baby is good too.  However, my doctor said I’m gaining weight quite fast, 12 pounds since I February and I have just started my 3rd trimester. I don’t appear fat though. She also asked me to see a diabetologist (Doctor #4) because my OGTT (oral glucose tolerance test) result was not good. My fast weight gain could be because of sugar. I should really abstain from sugary food. Total abstinence.  Will see the additional doctor after the Holy Week.

My cardiologist – He gave the go signal to lower my Innohep dosage because the clot has somehow improved, although it is still expected to be there even after I deliver. I’ll need to take oral medication after I give birth.

I hope by visit with the diabetologist turns out ok.

—–

Thirty-one weeks now!  Wow!  Thank you, Lord πŸ™‚  After 5 weeks, I can give birth anytime.  I’ll try to make it to 40 weeks.  My cousin just gave birth this week to a healthy baby girl!  Thank God for a safe delivery for her πŸ™‚  I think she was in her 36th or 37th week.

How’s River? According to the What to Expect Week 31:

– His brain is developing at a fast pace.
–  All of his five senses are now fully developed.
– Because he can’t practice his sense of smell yet, being submerged in amniotic fluid, I’ll be the first thing he’ll smell and will be his favorite scent. Hmmm…
– He can move to the rhythm of music that he likes. Should experiment on this and find out what’s his type of music.
– He can now move his head from left to right.
– He is urinating about 2 cups of liquid into the amniotic fluid each day now.
– He starts to suck his thumb.

How’s Mommy? My cardiologist would tell me to watch out for shortness of breath because of my DVT, but I do feel it because most probably it’s a result of my being 31 weeks pregnant. My growing uterus is pushing my other organs elsewhere, crowding my lungs and making it hard for my lungs to fully expand.  Nothing to worry about, that is how it is and the baby’s fine with it too πŸ™‚

How’s Daddy? With some prodding from me, he read to River for the very first time.  I bet River enjoyed it (as much as I did πŸ™‚ )

Such a lovely book πŸ™‚

Had a fun group date painting with friends last weekend.

My husband chose a painting on fireflies. His first painting is really nice! He can use this for storytelling time with River.

As for me, I chose a mother and baby painting to copy.  Much of it has changed from the original one because of some mistakes I did, and it turned out quite ok, don’t you think?  πŸ™‚

As a quote I’ve come across goes, “Already in my heart, someday in my arms.”

From last night’s Maundy Thursday service:



Thank You, Lord, for what You have done on the cross for me. Someday I hope River would come to know You too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

