23rd Week: More Dreams, Food & Baby Stuff

We turned 23 weeks yesterday!  According to the book “What To Expect When You’re Expecting,” I’m at the beginning of my 6th month – the final month of my second trimester! Sixth month is  from 23-27 weeks.

I’ve read from the book that around this time, I’ll have vivid dreams.  I do normally dream a lot in my sleep, but last night’s dream was the first one that made me cry in the morning when I was telling my husband about it.  I rather not elaborate – just happy thoughts here! πŸ™‚


According to WebMD pregnancy app, River has fully developed fingers and toes by now. High five, River!

He’s about the size of a Barbie fashion doll, according to Ovia app.

He starts to hiccup at this stage, causing jerking movements.  πŸ™‚ 

As for me, I should expect to pee less, and I would have gained 10-15 lbs by now. 

—-

I wonder if River would like to cook too when he grows up.  And what his favorite food will be!  Cooking has grown on me over the years. Well it seems that it started to turn more as a hobby than as a necessity that I need to learn to love, after I attended a short culinary course, and when I became pregnant.

I spend a lot of time in the kitchen lately and enjoy trying out new recipes. It’s like we are in the “Golden Age” of my cooking in our married life – must because River inspires me and because my husband appreciates everything I cook πŸ˜€ And because I stay at home a lot.

Many firsts again in the kitchen in the past days, and many lessons learned (from some mistakes too πŸ™‚ )

(1)  Pancit palabok

The recipe is from Kusina Master Recipes. It’s the simplest one I’ve found.  It forgot to indicate to season the sauce with salt, patis, and pepper.  Other recipes have chicharon and tinapa flakes.  This one I made has chicharon, but no tinapa flakes because I wasn’t able to buy any.  Next time πŸ™‚

(2)  Ravioli

Made these with a friend!  Have yet to buy my own pasta maker / roller.  I would make fresh pasta dough for ravioli.  For spaghetti or fettuccine, I like the instant ones better.

 

(3)  Fettuccine using fresh pasta dough

(4)  Made spinach dumplings too!

(5)  Discovered another food hack – Chicken ala Aristocrat.  Recipe here.

Alternative recipe from Epicurious here.  Might try it next time.
——

New addition to River’s loot πŸ™‚

Surprise, surprise! Given by friends πŸ™‚

Thank you, Auntie and Uncle! πŸ™‚
Thanks also for the Mustela samplers for baby and mommy πŸ™‚

Nice rustic box for River’s room from me!

I hesitated to buy it at first because I think it’s too early to get this, but then I thought it might no longer be available later on and it’s not expensive anyway πŸ‘Œ

I bought quite a number of books online – discovered Ohbabyph on Instagram and it sells brand new children’s books at very low prices!   These would probably have the same price as second hand ones since these are popular classic children’s books, should these titles by any chance be available in secondhand book shops like Book Sale. I wonder how the supplier sourced these. She said these were factory overruns.  They’re in very good quality πŸ™‚

Books by Leo Leonni, Eric Carle, and other children classics – River’s library is almost complete, I guess! πŸ™‚
Got this display idea from the Internet πŸ™‚  something to let River remember God formed him in my womb and that he is fearfully and wonderfully made πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

