What I Know About DVT

(Featured image:  Disclaimer – Spaghetti doesn’t cause DVT.  Used this as the feature photo for happy thoughts – since this post is not exactly a happy one 😦  So this is my happy food for the day – who wouldn’t be jolly with a Jolly spaghetti? πŸ™‚ )

I need happy food to keep my spirits up πŸ™‚  I need both food for the body and the soul πŸ™‚

So this is my post about DVT.  I am high risk for DVT or deep vein thrombosis maybe because of any or all of the following:

  • pregnancy – tendency for blood clotting increases
  • Estrogen in oral contraceptive pills – side effect of which is blood clot.  I had taken one set of Gynera in August before my procedure, and had been on Estradiol (estradiol valerate) or known as Progynova, here for a month.  Learned that Estradiol is also a form of oral contraceptive, which I started taking after my OPU (ovum pick up) until by 7th week of pregnancy.  All of these were prescribed by my IVF doctor.
  • prolonged standing or sitting – in my case, the doctor thinks it’s more of too much sitting

APAS or Antiphospholipid Antibodies Syndrome is also possible contributor to DVT but when I have my doctor my results and upon consultation with a rheumatologist, I do not actually have APAS, since I have never had any miscarriage before.

I don’t know what to believe now, whether I should go back to the doctor (reproductive immunologist) who diagnosed me with APAS or not.  May God give us wisdom.

Symptoms I have are pain in and swelling of my right leg.  Other symptoms which I thankfully do not have are chest pain, shortness of breath, rapid heart rate, and coughing up blood.

Complications may cause PE or pulmonary embolism when the clot dislodges from the deep vein and goes up the pulmonary system.  This can be life threatening if not treated immediately.

Treatment is through blood thinning injections called low molecular heparin.  I am having Clexane now every 12 hours.  Doctors say I need to have the injections until I give birth for the safety of the baby. 😦  I really wish there’s another way around this.  Anti-embolic socks also help in blood circulation and easing the pain. 

www-sehat-com-pk-clexane-inj-6000-0-6ml__38739_zoom

As a prevention, I should stand up and walk every 30 minutes of sitting down, to sit properly with feet down and not folded.

DVT can be triggered even in a period of just 2 days of poor blood circulation in the legs.  My cardiologist says it is most probably my by prolonged sitting.  And I thought then prolonged sitting was doing me good.  Long flights and bus rides can trigger this too. 

I have yet to have a really good cry for all of these.  I wish I had been more careful.  I wish people would stop telling me to just sit and lie down.  I wish I had known better so I could have avoided this.  I’m sorry, Zara 😦    I’m sorry, Lord, that I haven’t been careful with my body.

7 more months of injections. Daily and can be twice a day. 😦  Still praying for a miracle or anything that will make the injections go away.  I am not afraid of injections but I can only take so much. I thought my injection days were over in Taiwan.  I am not sure if I can bear having to do it daily for the rest of my pregnancy. 😦  At least around 200 more needles, pricks, injections.

If all these would lead me closer and more dependent on You, Lord, help me 😦  All for baby Zara. Keep her healthy please.


Psalm 27:7
Hear my voice when I call, LORD; be merciful to me and answer me.

Psalm 18:6
In my distress I called to the LORD; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears.

Psalm 27:1
The LORD is my light and my salvation– whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life– of whom shall I be afraid?

Leave a Reply

