The Blessing of Pain

(Featured photo – throw pillow I had to put on my tummy to make me somehow comfortable 🙂 )

It was one of those moments that I remember thanking God for the pain.

Tightness and pain in my belly woke me early in the morning.  I checked the time – it was 1:35 am.  I did not know if it were uterine contraction or I just needed to go to the rest room.

I went to the rest room to do a No. 2, but then the cramps still persisted.  Took Isoxilan as prescribed by my OB.  She asked me to take this medicine whenever I feel pain that is something like dysmenorrhea, or stomach cramps.  This is the third time I have taken this medicine since last Friday morning.  It is hard to distinguish stomach cramps due to uterine contraction, and stomach cramps due to a bad stomach.  I initially thought that Isoxilan was a pain reliever.  If it were a pain reliever, I was thinking I need not take it because I believe I have pretty high tolerance for pain.  But she corrected me and told me it’s to relax the uterus – to avoid miscarriage.

I scarcely go through dysmenorrhea.  Whenever I have stomach cramps during my period, it is tolerable and it quickly goes away.  And for the first time, maybe I felt what it is like to have a bad case of dysmenorrhea.  I have high tolerance for pain – and this one was probably the most painful I have experienced for a long, long time.  If Isoxilan were a pain reliever, I would have taken it as well.

I lay down hoping that the pain would go away, and prayed. Thanked God for the pain, that it confirms that I am really pregnant, but prayed that the pain would go away and that the baby would be safe.  In pain, I am reminded to put my confidence in the Lord, to fully depend on Him.  The cramps persisted for around 15 minutes until I fell back to sleep.

—-

I had been checking online for my second beta-HCG result since 9 am.  Well, the lab staff said it would be ready by 1 pm.  But I checked anyway in case the result would come out early.  Checked at 10 am, 11 am, 12 nn – no result yet.  Busied myself with other things.  Beta-HCG should double every 2 or 3 days in a healthy pregnancy.  My Thursday beta-HCG was 123.5mIU/mL, so we were hoping for at least a 240 mIU/mL result.

At 1 pm, no result still.  I was expecting a new file, but since there was none and it was already  1 pm,  I tried opening the latest one, the one from last Saturday.  Turned out that the lab just updated the Saturday file.

And here is the result…

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-1-05-27-pm

More than what we were expecting.  Thank you, Lord, for a good result!

Good job, Zara!  Hang in there and stay healthy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

