Day 29: Great Expectations

Moment of truth!  –  says the pregnancy test countdown counter today.


Since yesterday, we had been thinking of where to celebrate (or, hopefully not, console ourselves) when we get the pregnancy test results. Good or bad news, it’s a date! 🙂 Good or bad news, God knows what is best for us.  God is good, all the time.

I had our blood HCG or beta HCG test at around 8:30 am. No fasting or special preparations required for this blood test. Results will not come out until 4 hours later, around 12:30 nn.

For breakfast, we tried out a dimsum restaurant in the area. The food was so-so. But as long as I had my favorite beancurd rolls, which were probably the best among what we ordered, I was fine 🙂

Went home and waited until it was 12:30. Ten minutes before 12, my husband told me to check the result online. I wanted to check it later. (I set my cellphone countdown timer to 4 hours before we left the lab.)

He won, so we checked if the result was ready by then.

And there it was, in PDF file, waiting to be opened.

We opened the result together at exactly 12:02 pm.


The result says that I am pregnant. This is my best beta hcg value ever.

It has been 4 weeks since my LMP (last menstrual period), and my result is within the range.


I couldn’t believe it! Prayed and thanked the Lord for the result.  He answered our prayers not because we deserve it, but because He is good and His timing is perfect.

I shook off worries on what if the beta hcg value goes down, or what if this pregnancy will not reach live birth.

When I am afraid, I put my trust in You. Psalm 56:3

We went to see my OB in the afternoon, and I was prescribed some vitamins and something for uterine contraction.  I will have another blood test on Saturday for blood sugar and beta HCG, and urinalysis as well.

So off we went to try out Sear, one of the few non-Chinese restaurants in Banawe, Quezon City area.  My husband saw it on Booky – a restaurant app – and we saw that they are offering 300 pesos discount for a minimum total bill of 1000 pesos.  Might as well try it 🙂

The complimentary hot pandesal with cilantro butter deserves a big photo – it’s probably what we liked most!  Fries – who can go wrong with cheesy fries; US Striploin – good for the price; Seafood Lasagna Negra – innovative, but too salty.  We got a free ice cream for answering the survey!

Countdown to pregnancy test ends today!  Another wait begins.  I will continue to expect great things from our great God and entrust everything to Him.  I will end today’s post with a reflection I encountered this morning on Instagram, which I find very timely for my situation now:

Great Expectations

I waited patiently and expectantly for the Lord; and He inclined to me and heard my cry.
Psalm 40:1

Sometimes we expect nothing;  we merely wait to see what happens and nothing does because we have been expecting nothing.  At other times, we may fall into the trap of expecting to be disappointed because we have been disappointed time and time again in the past, so we are afraid to hope for anything.  However, God wants us to have a faith-filled expectation of His goodness, because He can do exceedingly, abundantly above all that dare to ask or think (see Ephesians 3:20).

Developing a very thankful attitude for God’s present goodness in your life will open the door for God to do even more.  Let Him know that you expect to see His goodness in your life, not because you deserve it, but because He is good.

The Bible teaches us that God is waiting to bless people, but He is looking for someone who is expecting and believing for His favor. (See Isaiah 30:18)

From “The Power of Being Thankful”

———-

Grateful for today and taking it one day at a time,
Zara’s Mommy 🙂

Leave a Reply

